polarexo.blogg.se

Mac app for night light
Mac app for night light









mac app for night light

I used to carry a DSLR with me, and more recently switched to the Sony a6300. In every city I visit, I always head to the top of the tallest building I can find with public access, be it an observation deck or bar. If it’s people at a party, we’ll go put them in some light if we want proper shots if we’re shooting in the dark, it’s for the memory. But travel shots need to look good. It’s also the one shot where we really care about quality. This is the one area where smartphones have historically been weak, and the main reason I still carry a standalone camera these days when traveling. To me, the key requirement for night shots is capturing cityscapes at night.

mac app for night light

ProCam can do much more, so my ranking here applies only to this specific usage. Note that I am only comparing night-shot performance here. Spectre has the lowest resolution, hence the much smaller close-up. Note that not all apps shoot at the same resolution, and I’ve resized slightly to get a consistent view in 1000 pixels across. The resize is to 1500×750, the size I generally use for web and social media, and Photoshop quality 8 (my usual compromise between quality and file size).įor the cityscapes, I also include a close crop to show the quality in detail. I did my best to hold the iPhone as steadily as possible, but I didn’t brace against anything, for a realistic test.Īll shots are completely unedited bar a crop and resize. The double-glazing means that you can see reflections of some of the red lights in particular in some shots.

mac app for night light

The cityscape shots were taken with the camera pressed up against the inside of a double-glazed window, in the dark. For ProCam, which is not solely geared to night shots, I selected night mode but left everything else unchanged.

#MAC APP FOR NIGHT LIGHT MANUAL#

In each case, I took two photos in succession to make sure there were no anomalies between them (there weren’t).Īll photos were taken with no manual adjustment of settings. I did a comparison with five other camera apps - including the stock one - to see how each fared with two different types of night shot…Īll photos were taken within the space of just a few minutes, so all were in the same light. A quick play this week with NeuralCam suggested it might be in with a shot of being the best iPhone camera app for night shots - but I needed to put that to the test.











Mac app for night light